Why is it when you mention that you’re African someone will invariably tell you they travelled to somewhere in Africa and then try to speak some words in the language to you even after you’ve told them the country you’re from and that you don’t speak whatever it is they’re trying to speak to you?

Take a deep breath girl. Whoosaiiii!

Case in point. I meet someone and we start to chat. Where are you from they say. I mention my country in West Africa.

Stranger: Oh i went to Tanzania once and lived there for a year.

Me: oh wow, awesome. How did you like it.

Stranger: blah blah blah I learnt a bit of Swahili (mumbles some words to me).

Me: *laughing* Oh no i don’t speak Swahili. That’s a language common in the Eastern, Southerly parts of Africa not in my country or West Africa.

Stranger: (a bit incredulously) oh really? I thought everyone in Africa spoke a little Swahili at least.

Me: Nope, not a word.

Guy then proceeds to try to say a few more words to test that I really did not speak it. This went on for some time and me now tiring of the entire conversation, tries to end it.

Me: Okay nice talking to you, gotta go now.

Stranger: Oh how do you say goodbye in Swahili I’ve forgotten.

Me: *coldly* I don’t speak Swahili.

Stranger: (completely ignoring my statement) oh yeah i think it’s *insert probably wrong Swahili word he thinks is goodbye*

Me: Sure i wouldn’t know but have a nice life *eye roll*

RUDE.dontcare

Leave a Reply

